GS Paper I- History and Geography of the World and Society.

The Economist Intelligence Unit Announces The Safe Cities Index 2017

NEC-Sponsored Report Names Tokyo The World’s Safest City.


  • It was announced on 12th October, 2017 that Tokyo has been named the safest city in the world once again in the Safe Cities Index 2017, a report compiled by The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU; the research and analysis division of The Economist Group of Britain) and sponsored by NEC Corporation. Tokyo previously earned the overall number one spot in 2015.
  • Although Tokyo earned the highest score in digital security and made improvements in health security, it did fall out of the top ten in the infrastructure security category.


Highlights Of The Development–

  • This EIU report evaluates the relative safety of 60 cities around the world based on an index composed of 49 indicators split across four categories: digital security, health security, infrastructure security, and personal security. Interviews are also conducted with 14 experts in the field, thereby making it possible to understand improvements in urban safety from various angles.
  • America’s deteriorating infrastructure is reflected in the rankings, with San Francisco being the only U.S. city to claim a spot in the top twenty of this category. All other cities ranked in the top ten for the infrastructure security category are either in Europe or the Asia-Pacific region.
  • Two Australian cities Melbourne and Sydney made it to the Top Ten, with Melbourne ranked at number 5 and Sydney ranked at number 7.
  • Indian cities, Delhi and Mumbai were ranked 43rd and 45th respectively.
  • Of the 10 cities at the bottom of the index, two are in South Asia (Dhaka and Karachi), three in South-east Asia (Manila, Ho Chi Minh City and Jakarta) and two in the Middle East and Africa (Cairo and Tehran).
  • Tokyo’s strongest performance is in the digital security category and it has risen seven points in the health security category, the report said.
  • No US city has made it to the top 10 in the security category and only San Francisco appeared in the top 20. The top 10 cities in this category are Madrid, Barcelona, Stockholm, Amsterdam, Zurich, Singapore, Wellington, Hong Kong, Melbourne and Sydney.

Sources- NEC, SBS.

GS Paper III- Technology.

IAF Commanders’ Conference: Indian Air Force To Launch Two Mobile Apps.


  • Indian Air Force will be launching two mobile apps for Air Force Cellular Network (AFCEL) called ‘MEDWATCH’ and ‘AFCHAT’ soon. This is in consonance with Government of India’s ‘Digital India’ initiative.
  • Various other initiatives like online testing & evaluation and online entrance examination to further the initiative will be covered. The new look Air Force Central Accounts Office (AFCAO) website with enhanced features will also be launched.
  • It was announced during the bi-annual IAF Commanders’ Conference which was inaugurated by the Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on October 10, 2017 at Air Headquarters (Vayu Bhavan), New Delhi.


Highlights Of The Development-

  • Defence Minister stressed on the fact that IAF should focus on ‘Make-in-India’ in Force.
  • Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman stressed that Air Force along with Ordinance Factory Board and DRDO should make an assessment about indigenisation under ‘Make-in-India’ programme. The Government is committed to fill the gaps which have arisen due to lack of timely decision making in the last decade.
  • The Chief of the IAF BS Dhanoa while addressing the commanders emphasised the need for continuous effort and training to maintain IAF’s cutting edge. He also reiterated the IAF’s role as the first responder in most contingencies and thus the need to sustain the ongoing process of capability enhancement making use of the government’s thrust on ‘Make-in-India’ initiative.
  • The Commanders’ conference was conducted for three days till 12 October, 2017 wherein discussions took place on various subjects that will decide the future trajectory of the Indian Air Force which includes operations, maintenance issues and various administrative initiatives that will be taken to enhance the working environment of the IAF.

Sources- Indiatoday.


GS Paper IV- Integrity.

Singer T M Krishna To Get Indira Gandhi National Integration Award.


  • Carnatic vocalist T.M. Krishna will be conferred with the Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for 2015-16.
  • The singer, who won the Ramon Magsaysay award for bringing “social inclusiveness in culture” in 2016, will be presented with the honour by Congress president Sonia Gandhi on October 31, 2017-  Indira Gandhi’s death anniversary.



Highlights Of The Development-

  • The 30th Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for the year 2015 and 2016 has been awarded to T.M. Krishna, for his services in promoting and preserving national integration in the country, Motilal Vora, member secretary of the advisory committee of the Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration of AICC, said in a statement.
  • Mr. Krishna is not only one of the prominent vocalists in the rigorous Carnatic tradition of Indian classical music, but also an activist who has worked on creating egalitarian spaces for music and breaking down caste-barriers in the form.
  • He was also part of a movement to help the Tamil-dominated and war-ravaged northern province of Sri Lanka rebuild its classical music traditions.
  • An outspoken columnist, Mr. Krishna, has written and talked on a wide range of socio-political issues, including women’s rights, children’s needs, issues that make a society civil or un-civil, and the dangers of the mentality of war and narrow nationalism.
  • The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of ₹10 lakh.
  • The Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration was instituted in 1985 by the Congress in its centenary year. The award is conferred on October 31 for promoting national integration, understanding and fellowship among different communities and cultures of India.
  • The earlier recipients include spiritual leader Swami Ranganathananda, freedom fighter Aruna Asaf Ali, the Bharat Scouts and Guides, bureaucrat P.N. Haksar, singer M.S. Subbulakshmi, former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi (posthumously) and former presidents A.P.J. Abdul Kalam and Shankar Dayal Sharma (posthumously).
  • Others winners include the Kasturba Gandhi National Memorial Trust (Indore, Madhya Pradesh), musician A.R. Rahman, Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, Narainpur, Chhattisgarh (jointly), poet Gulzar, scientist M.S. Swaminathan and activist P.V. Rajagopal, besides filmmaker Shyam Benegal and lyricist Javed Akhtar.

Sources- The Hindu.